Formula 1: Max Verstappen breaks Schumacher record in Mexico victory Sports

14th win of the season in Mexico |

Verstappen breaks Schumi record

Of: Michel Milewski and Tom Kollmar (currently in Mexico)

A season for the history books!

Max Verstappen (25) wins the Mexican Grand Prix – his 14th race this season. No driver in the history of Formula 1 has ever done that! Since last weekend, the Red Bull driver has shared the record with the two Germans Michael Schumacher (53) and Sebastian Vettel (35), who each achieved 13 victories in one year.

For Verstappen it is an unchallenged start-finish victory. The Dutchman, who already has the world title secured, dominated events from the start. Lewis Hamilton (37), who finishes second, has no realistic chance of victory at any point in the race. Verstappen teammate and local hero Sergio Perez (32) completes the podium and finishes third.

For Mick Schuamcher (23), the race is a throwback to the old days. The German, who started the race from 15th place, made no major mistakes, but still only finished 16th. Reason: His Haas couldn’t handle the Mexico City circuit. Both Mick and teammate Kevin Magnussen (30) have no chance against the competition.

The race is going better for Sebastian Vettel (35), but not as desired. After a strong start (from 16th to 14th place) he got stuck in midfield with his Aston Martin. In the end he will be 14. This also ends the points series of the four-time world champion on his farewell tour. Vettel had previously finished in the top 10 three times in a row.

1.Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
2.Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
3.Sergio Perez (Red Bull)
4.George Russell (Mercedes)
5.Carlos Sainz (Ferrari)
6.Charles Leclerc (Ferrari)
7.Daniel Ricciardo (McLaren)
8th.Esteban Ocon (Alpine)
9.Lando Norris (McLaren)
10Valtteri Bottas (Alfa Romeo)
11.Pierre Gasly (Alpha Tauri)
12.Alexander Albon (Williams)
13.Zhou Guanyu (Alfa Romeo)
14Sebastian Vettel (Aston Martin)
15Lance Stroll (Aston Martin)
16Mick Schumacher (Haas)
17Kevin Magnussen (Haas)
18Nicholas LatifiWilliams
19Fernando Alonso (Alpine) – retired
20Yuki Tsunoda (Alpha Tauri) – retired

source site