“Unacceptable”, the anger of Longoria and Tudor after the penalty not whistled on Kolasinac

Held in check by Monaco at the Vélodrome stadium (1-1) during the shock of the 20th day of Ligue 1, OM dropped precious points this Saturday. But like Olympian President Pablo Longoria, very frustrated after the final whistle, the Marseillais deplored a questionable referee’s decision on an uncontrolled tackle by Maripan on Kolasinac in the 73rd minute. A big contact that did not give rise to recourse to video arbitration.

“Mamma mia! What’s the use of VAR?” In front of the cameras present in the Vélodrome stadium, Pablo Longoria takes the 100 steps after the final whistle. Held in check by Monaco (1-1) on their lawn at the end of the 20th day of Ligue 1, OM dropped two important points and ended a series of eight consecutive victories in all competitions.

Above all, the Phocaeans felt that they were victims of a refereeing error at the end of the match. And it is this situation which has, visibly, quite annoyed the Marseille president, eager to have explanations from the referee of the meeting, Jérémie Pignard.

Maripan author of a big sole on Kolasinac, but no recourse to VAR

What are we talking about? In the 73rd minute of play, Marseille benefited from a corner on the left side. The ball, stored with a header by Malinovskiy at the far post, finds Balerdi’s header. The Argentinian unleashes a powerful shot which ricochets off the Monegasque crossbar. After a mess, the leather landed in the feet of Kolasinac who wanted to resume with the right foot but, embarrassed by Maripan, saw his volley go over the goal of Nübel.

But it is on this last action, namely the attempt of the Serb, that all eyes turn. Because Maripan does not control his tackle and is guilty of a big sole on the Marseille player, who has just struck. The former Arsenal player remains on the ground for several seconds, without the central referee reacting or the video referees asking for him in the headset. However, everything suggests that the Chilean’s gesture is, at the very least, dangerous and undermines the physical integrity of his opponent…

“Normally it’s a red card” for Tudor

Since then, social networks did not fail to ignite to underline this absence of penalty in favor of OM. If Jérémie Pignard could have considered that the fault occurred after the strike, the sole and the cry of Kolasinac on the shot could have led him to consult the VAR in order to help him make a decision by having several angles of view. Above all, the video referees should have alerted him, the latter having these images available.

“It’s the biggest mistake of the VAR, did not fail to underline Igor Tudor on Canal + after the meeting. There is no explanation. The fact that he shoots before, it is not a good explanation .Normally it’s a red card…it’s unbelievable, UNBELIEVABLE, unacceptable.” The anger should not fall immediately on the Canebière.

source site